airy, the façade is characterised by three large ogival
windows and by the embattled clock tower.
On its surface of sandstone the coats of
arms of some eminent Italian families are visible (Visconti,
Montefeltro, etc.), while in the space between the arches
of the portico are the coats of arms of the four Castles
constituting the Republic’s ancient countryside:
Serravalle, Fiorentino, Faetano and Montegiardino.
In the middle, between two
large ogival windows, is a polygonal balcony from which,
during a fascinating ceremony, the Captains Regent
appointed for the following 6-month term are announced.
At the right corner is a
beautiful bronze statuette of Founder Saint Marino,
moulded in 1894 by Giulio Tadolini (Rome, 1849-1918), and,
on the clock tower, a Murano mosaic triptych depicting
Saints Leo, Quirino and Agata.
Under the portico, near the three huge
entrance doors, is a marble bust in memory of architect
Francesco Azzurri sculptured and donated by Giulio